The third installment of the International Wheelchair & Amputee Sports Federation’s 2018 Wheelchair Fencing World Cup was contested in Montreal over the weekend.

Beginning Friday, April 27, the three-day competition was held at Montreal’s Claude-Robillard Sports Complex and attracted some of the world’s best male and female wheelchair fencers who competed in both the A and B categories across all three weapons. Medals were also medals up for grabs in the men’s team epee and women’s team sabre events.

Overall, it was the Hungarian and French fencers who outperformed the competition, winning four and three golds respectively, with the latter also claiming four silver and seven bronze to top the combined medal tally with fourteen.

France’s men dominated the foil events on day one, with Damien Tokatlian and Maxime Valet winning the A and B foil divisions respectively.

Great Britain’s Gemma Collis-McCann claimed her first ever IWAS gold on the same day, taking out the women’s epee A division by defeating her more highly fancied Hungarian opponent Zsuzsanna Krajnyák, an 11-time Paralympic medallist, 15-13. Thailand’s Saysunee Jana won the division B women’s epee.

On day two, Krajnyák made amends for her loss on day one by winning the A division of the women’s foil, defeating compatriot Eva Andrea Hajmasi 15-11 in the final. Rounding out a dominant day for Hungary’s women was Gyöngyi Dani’s win in the women’s B division of the foil, and the Hungarian women’s team victory in the sabre, defeating Georgia 45-36 in the final.

In the men’s epee, South Korea’s Sim Jae Hoon took out the A division, narrowly defeating France’s Robert Cistern 15-14, while in division B, France’s Yohan Peter beat Brazilian Jovane Guissone 12-10.

Day three saw the men’s and women’s sabre events take place, as well as the men’s team epee, which was won by the Polish trio of Norbert Calka, Grzegorz Lewonowski and Michal Nalewajek, who defeated France by 45-42 in a gripping finale. Thailand claimed the bronze.

In the men’s and women’s sabre competition, it was host Canada’s men who dominated, winning both the A and B divisions. Ryan Rousell defeated Japan’s Shintaro Kano 15-4 in the A final, while countryman Pierre Mainville was good enough to defeat France’s Maxime Valet 15-9 in the B final.

In the women’s division A final, Hungary’s Amarilla Veres dominated Georgia’s Nino Tibiashvill to win 15-4, while Irma Khetsuriani, also from Georgia, took the B final in a much closer contest, 15-13 over Thailand’s Saysunee Jana.

The next leg of the IWAS Wheelchair Fencing World Cup will take place in Warsaw, Poland, between July 5 and 9.


Full Medal Tally

Great Britain1023


Men’s Foil A

1. Damien Tokatlian (FRA)
2. Shintaro Kano (JPN)
3. Michal Nalewajak (POL)
3. Jae Hoon Sim (KOR)

Men’s Foil B

1. Maxime Valet (FRA)
2. Gi Hong Kim (KOR)
3. Jovane Guissone (BRA)
3. Michinobu Fujita (JPN)

Women’s Foil A

1. Zsuzsanna Krajnyak (HUN)
2. Eva Andrea Hajmasi (HUN)
3. Nino Tibiashvili (GEO)
3. Gemma Collis-McCann (GBR)

Women’s Foil B

1. Gyongi Dani (HUN)
2. Cecile Demaude (FRA)
3. Sophie Sablon (FRA)
3. Irma Khetsuriani (GEO)

Men’s Epee A

1. Jae Hoon Sim (KOR)
2. Robert Cistern (FRA)
3. Oliver Lam Watson (GBR)
3. Norbert Calka (POL)

Men’s Epee B

1. Yohan Peter (FRA)
2. Jovane Guissone (BRA)
3. Grzegorz Lewonowski (POL)
3. Gi Hong Kim (KOR)

Women’s Epee A

1. Gemma Collis-McCann (GBR)
2. Zsuzsanna Krajnyak (HUN)
3. Sabrina Wrist (FRA)
3. Amarilla Veres (HUN)

Women’s Epee B

1. Saysunee Jana (THA)
2. Gyongyi Dani (HUN)
3. Circus Peloux (FRA)
3. Li Ling Lew (MAS)

Men’s Sabre A

1. Ryan Rousell (CAN)
2. Shintaro Kano (JPN)
3. Moez El Assine (FRA)
3. Naoki Yasu (JPN)

Men’s Sabre B

1. Pierre Mainville (CAN)
2. Maxime Valet (FRA)
3. Jerome Prevot (FRA)
3. Ryuji Onda (JPN)

Women’s Sabre A

1. Amarilla Veres (HUN)
2. Nino Tibiashvili (GEO)
3. Eva Andrea Hajmasi (HUN)
3. Sabrina Wrist (FRA)

Women’s Sabre B

1. Irma Khetsuriani (GEO)
2. Saysunee Jana (THA)
3. Boglarka Mezo (HUN)
3. Kalliopi Loufaki (GRE)

Team Results

Women’s Sabre

1. Hungary
2. Georgia
3. France

Men’s Epee

1. Poland
2. France
3. Thailand